What a lotta Louis!

 

So, I have a very dear friend who recently inherited a Louis chair which happened to need upholstering. By coincidence, her mum also happened to have, not one, but two Louis chairs which also needed upholstering! Safe to say, I am now fairly confident when it comes to reupholstering these chairs :).

Lisa’s chair was my second project and my first time studying with Susan Roe-Curran at Blue Flamingo Upholstery in Aberdeen. In my usual style, I had the chair stripped and prepped, ready for class so as not to use up precious classes doing something I could do at home.


It took me a while to get to grips with the webbing stretcher! I even had to take a photo of how the webbing is inserted so that I didn’t have to feel like a complete idiot for asking ‘how do you do this again?’, for the hundredth time!


I reused the existing foam as it was fire proof and covered it with some fire retardant calico for good measure. By this point I am really enjoying myself! I’ve been using a magnetic hammer and a pneumatic staple gun which is awesome (no wonder there were about a thousand staples to pull out of this chair, it’s so easy to put staples in with this amazing tool!!). Plus it’s so nice to see the seat taking shape.

After this point, I think I got so excited that I forgot to take anymore pictures!! I don’t have a single image to show how the back went together. Good job I went on to reupholster two more of these bad boys so I could document them a bit better.


I made double welt cord for the trim which was tricky. Thankfully I have a book by Amanda Brown of Spruce Upholstery in Austin, Texas which has a wee chapter on how to do it. The hardest part was probably getting a welt cord foot for my sewing machine which is 50 years old!!

So there you have it! Three Louis chairs for two lovely ladies.  The first one was completed entirely at upholstery class (apart from the double welt cord) but I did the other two at home.  This was not without its problems.  The fabric for the second chair (the stripey one) turned out to be super thin which meant that getting the stripes straight was a total nightmare.  In my inexperience, I couldn’t understand why I was having such a hard time with the stripes but a quick trip to upholstery class revealed that the problem was with the fabric, not me!! Phew!

Upholstery has me totally hooked now!  I love it!

Leave a Reply

